Artful Perspectives

Crochet Pattern: From Doily to Shawl

Sometimes you see a beautiful pattern that just whispers to your yarn basket. I love relaxing by going through my boxes of old patterns.  Taking a lace pattern I love and making it into something useful in my world is not just fun but challenging. The best part is not ever really being sure how the lace will look until you block it out! 

I used the Peacock Tails No. 7444 pattern  from the Old and New Favorites book published by the Spool Cotton Company in 1947.

Final shawl created from the Peacock Tails pattern after blocking.

Here are the inspiration photos showing the pattern blocked and starched as a doily. I took great liberty in the creation of the shawl so that it would not look like I was wearing a tablecloth! 

From Doily to Shawl inspiration photo
The wonderful drape of this super washed wool is just lovely. Babbling Brook fingering weight from CeCe’s Wool in Esperance, NY.

I love the drape of this hand dyed superwashed wool in fingering weight. The shawl is so soft and swingy.  Perfect for New Year’s Eve!

Leave a comment